Any problem while you’re travelling in a train? Know whom to tweet for quick action

60 year old Swapan De was writhing in anxiety when suddenly a stabbing pain hit his chest. He was then travelling in Yesvantpur-Howrah Express, not in a state to inform anyone about his plight. None were available to take control of the situation in the running train till co-passenger Abhijit Goswami came to the rescue. No sooner did he tweet about Swapan’s condition on Ministry of Railways page, than the DRM of Howrah Division was immediately instructed to look into the matter ASAP. As soon as they reached Howrah station, a medical team got hold of Swapan and escorted him to the nearest hospital. Swapan had a cerebral attack then and now he’s all good at his Kharagpur residence.

Last year, Pankaj Jain who was travelling with his ailing father on Yesvantpur-Bikaner Express, hit the headlines due to the immediate response he got from the ministry for requesting a wheelchair for his father. All he did was posting a tweet by tagging the appropriate Twitter handle to get things done in a snap.

That’s how immediate actions are taken nowadays, thanks to Twitter-active Indian Railways. Railway minister Suresh Prabhu has strictly instructed all the railway officials to be ‘Tweet ready’ to cater to all the grievances of the passengers without any delay. Aided by a software that can recognize tweets on the basis of urgency, the Twitter team of Indian Railways copes with thousands of tweets a day. A lot of people are already aware about this but many netizen are not sure about the apt twitter handle that would take prompt action which falls under their jurisdiction.

Book mark these twitter handles to get in touch with the General manager and Divisional Railway Managers while you travel. Tag both the GM and DRM of the respective division where you will need help.

 Central Railways

General Manager: @gm_crly,

Mumbai Division: @drmmumbaicr

Nagpur Division: @drmcrngp

Pune Division: @drmpune

Solapur Division: @drmsolapur

Bhusaval Division: @bhusavaldivn

 Eastern Railways

General Manager: @EasternRailway

Sealdah Division: @drmsdah

Howrah Division: @drmhowrah

Asansol Division: @DRM_ASN

Malda Division: @drmmalda

 East Central Railways

General Manager: @GM_ECRly

Danapur Division: @DrmDnr

Dhanbad Division: @drmdhnecr

Mugalsarai Division: @drmmgs

Samastipur Division: @spjdivn

Sonpur Division: @drmsee1

 East Coast Railway

General Manager: @gmeastcoastrly

Waltair Division: @drmwat_ecor

Khurdaroad Division: @DRMKhurdaroad

Sambalpur Division: @drmsambalpur

 Northern Railways

General Manager: @GM_NRly

Moradabad Division: @drm_moradabad

Firozpur Division: @firozpur_nrly

Lucknow Division: @drmlko25

Delhi Division: @drmdli

Ambala Division: @drmumb

 North Central Railways

General Manager: @GMNCR1

Allahabad Division: @drmncrald

Jhansi Division: @Drmjhansi

Agra Division: @DRM_Agra

 North Western Railways

General Manager: @GMNWRailway

Jaipur Division: @DRMJaipur

Jodhpur Division: @DRMJodhpurNWR

Bikaner Division: @drmbikaner

Ajmer Division: @DRMAjmer

  Southern Railways

General Manager: @GMSRailway

Chennai Division: @Drmchennai

Trivandrum Division: @TVC138

Salem Division: @SalemDRM

Madurai Division: @drmmadurai

Palghat Division: @propgt14

Tiruchchirapalli Division: @Drmtpj

 South Central Railways

General Manager: @Gmscrailway

Secundrabad Division: @drmsecunderabad

Hyderabad Division: @drmhyb

Vijayawada Division: @drmvijayawada

Guntkal Division: @drmgnt

Nanded Division: @drmned

Guntur Division: @drmgnt

 South Eastern Railways

General Manager: @GM/SERAILWAY

Chakradharpur Division: @DRMCKP

Adra Division: @ADRARAIL

Kharagpur Division: @drmkgp

Ranchi Division: @drmrnc

 South East Central Railways

General Manager: @Gmsecr

Bilaspur Division: @DRM Bilaspur

Raipur Division: @Drm_raipur

Nagpur Division: @drmngpsecr

 South Western Railways

General Manager: @gmswr

Hubli Division: @DRMUBL

Bengaluru Division: @DRMSBC

Mysore Division: @DRMMYS

 Western Railways

General Manager: @Gmwrly

Mumbai Division: @Drmbct

Ahmedabad Division: @drmadiwr

Ratlam Division: @RatlamDrm

Rajkot Division: @wrdrmrjt

Bhavnagar Division: @drm_bvp

Vadodara Division: @drmbrcwr

 West Central Railways

General Manager: @Gmwcrailway

Bhopal Division: @ Drmbhopal

Jabalpur Division: @drmjabalpur

Kota Division: @drmkota

In case you’re internet connectivity is out of reach then you can always call at 139.


Leave a Reply